My Private Jet.

I really wish I could jet off somewhere for an island getaway like, right now. But that’s not really the point of this post.

My Private Jet is actually an OPI nail polish shade, and I daresay it’s my favourite. It’s a gunmetal grey with holographic glitter. I first saw it about 3 years ago when a friend came to church wearing it. She had gotten her nails done and I’m so glad she remembered the colour, cos when I joined a spree for OPI nail polish a few months later, I immediately knew which one I wanted to get.

20110528-042243.jpg

There’s a little bit of controversy behind this shade though. I saw a number of blogs saying that the newer batches of My Private Jet were different – the holographic glitter was now a plain silver glitter. That got me worried cos I didn’t know which version I would be getting from the supplier. Thankfully it was the original version, and I still love it after 3 years..or it could actually be 4.

20110528-042224.jpg

See that rainbow sheen?

20110528-042251.jpg

After 3 coats!

The formulation is a little sheer. You can see how it looks after 1, 2 and 3 coats from the picture below:

20110528-042304.jpg

I know it’s totally not a shade of colour for summer, but it doesn’t matter to me since Singapore is barely seasonal. Well, we have 3 seasons. Hot, Rainy and Durian, sometimes all 3 at the same time (like now).

OPI is really pricey if you buy it from salons or departmental stores, but if you know which sprees to join, you can get it for as cheap as $10-12 (SGD). My school (WKWSCI) had a spree for OPI and China Glaze polishes a while ago, and they were going for $11.50 and $9 respectively. On a side note, I have yet to receive my CG Crackle Glaze (similar to OPI’s Black Shatter) cos there was a screw up with the supplier. Can’t wait for that to finally be resolved.

Although CG has a huge range of colours like OPI, I would go for OPI (if I had a higher spending power) cos the brush is way better. OPI has this “pro-wide” brush that’s kind of flat and wider than normal, whereas China Glaze (and most other polishes) has this thin and kind of flimsy brush – super hard to cover a large area evenly.

20110528-042309.jpg

Left: OPI’s My Private Jet. Right: China Glaze’s Exceptionally Gifted.

I have another OPI colour – Lincoln Park after Dark matte. Love it! Just that it chips a lot easier (they do inform you of this on the website). Also, Lincoln Park, Linkin Park.. ;)

Leave a Reply

  • just some numbers

    • 22,182 hits
