Grey Skies.

I don’t know why I didn’t blog about this a few days ago when I found out, but…

Holly Brook, the girl on the Fort Minor song “Where’d You Go?”,

is actually SKYLAR GREY. The voice on Dr. Dre’s “I Need A Doctor”, Diddy/Dirty Money’s “Coming Home”, Lupe Fiasco’s “Words I Never Said”, and she wrote the chorus to Rihanna/Eminem’s “Love The Way You Lie” (as well as the version mainly sung by Rihanna).

I have been a huge fan of Holly’s ever since she appeared on that Fort Minor track (and another called “Be Somebody” which wasn’t released as a single), and I managed to snag her album “Like Blood Like Honey” from a Borders sale in 2007. She was more folksy (but still edgy) last time, and I loved her songwriting.

Fast forward 4 years to 2011, and I had kind of stopped following her work cos there were some complications with her music label or something, she went on to work with Duncan Sheik on his Whisper House album in 2009, and she generally flew under the radar after that (my radar, anyway).

When I started hearing the name ‘Skylar Grey’ being mentioned by radio deejays and the like after they had played some rap/hip-hop track, I just assumed that she was another Afro-American chick like Keri Hilson and Nicki Minaj not just because of the genre association, but c’mon, the name does sound like she could be one of them right?

So when my friend posted a video of this ‘Skylar Grey’ singing the supposed original demo of Love The Way You Lie with just a piano for accompaniment, I decided to check her out on Wikipedia to find out who on earth she was.

Mind = Blown.

And now, here’s a little video for (slightly unfair) comparison:

‘Nuff said.

I’m really happy for Holly/Skylar that she’s getting a lot more recognition for her music now. I’m just a little worried that she may be going down the “Matthew Santos road”, where he was featured on so many Lupe songs (Superstar, American Terrorist, Streets On Fire, Fighters, Shining Down), but his style was totally different. I have Matthew’s “Matters of the Bittersweet” album too. His voice is so unique and full of emotion:

The issue is that he’s still a struggling musician even after all that exposure through “Superstar” (according to his tweets), but he’s working on a new album with his band though, so hopefully that works out a lot better.

Anyway. Back to Holly/Skylar.

She’s working on a new album too, and here’s a little teaser for the song that she’s going to be releasing (FOR FREE) next Tuesday (7th June):

Fingers crossed.

Oh and here’s a clip of my cover of Love The Way You Lie, Holly-style (I can’t get used to referring to her as Skylar Grey after all these years of telling people about Holly Brook).

Leave a Reply

  • just some numbers

    • 22,320 hits
