Fuck It, Where’s My Shit.

Once again, thanks to good friends with good connections, I managed to catch Warpaint live at St James Power Station on 2nd August. They also played at Laneway Festival in January, but I didn’t go for that.

I hadn’t heard of Warpaint prior to the concert, let alone listened to their songs or knew who they were. When they initially stepped out on stage, I thought they were some indie girl band (You can’t fault me for that! Emily Kokal was wearing a jumper over a dress) but I was obviously and utterly mistaken. Stupid me, I’ve been missing out! They sounded amazing live, and the only other times I’ve heard drums sound so brutal were when Russian Circles played at Zouk last September, and when In Each Hand A Cutlass played at the Esplanade Waterfront last December. They’ve been termed as “art rock” and “shoegaze”, but I really think they’re also apocalyptical post-rock like Russian Circles, but with insane vocals that are sometimes haunting, and sometimes filled with straight up female angst. I can’t remember which song it was already, but I’ve never heard dissonant harmonies sung so beautifully before.

Here’s the very last song of their set (and 2-song encore), ‘Beetles’.

So much angst.

I’m so glad I went for the gig anyway despite not knowing anything about Warpaint. I wonder how they sound on their studio recordings. Yup, it’s been 2 weeks since the gig and I still haven’t listened to them. I did, however, check them out on the Interwebz, and was surprised to find out that Shannyn Sossamon (actress whose short hair I love) was the original drummer, the bassist Jenny Lee Lindberg is Shannyn’ sister, and Emily Kokal used to go out with JOHN FRUSCIANTE!! Also, RHCP’s current guitarist Josh Klinghoffer used to be a member of Warpaint, too. What’s with the RHCP connection, yo. As if the actual concert wasn’t mind-blowing enough, I had to get mind-blown again by Wikipedia.

I shall leave you with this video of Emily Kokal performing ‘Baby’, the first encore song. Maybe I’ll go learn it..

Leave a Reply

  • just some numbers

    • 22,320 hits
