Haul #2: The Body Shop.

The Body Shop fanatic strikes again. This time, at the sale held at Suntec Gallery West (17-20th August). I was expecting a crazy crowd and loads of products, like the sales that they have at the atrium of Plaza Singapura. As I went up the escalators, I saw people carrying white mid-sized plastic bags, big red plastic bags, all filled with an insane amount of Body Shop products, and tied up with cable ties. Mostly body butters and shower gels. When I finally got to the entrance of the gallery, I saw a large cluster of people through the doors and thought ‘Oh my God, maybe I shouldn’t have come’.

20110817-070242.jpg

My own cable-tied baggy.

I was pleasantly surprised that there wasn’t that big of a crowd inside at all! The sale area was actually rather small, about half the Plaza Singapura atrium I would say, and apart from the people lining the sales bins, there was plenty of space all around. The crowd I had seen was just the queue for the cashier. When I finally joined the snaking queue, I didn’t have to wait long before I made it to a cashier counter. There was a total of 10 cashier counters, with 2 staff at each one – one to pack and one to scan. There was even one lady at the start of the queue to direct shoppers to an available cashier. Kudos to The Body Shop for their efficiency!

20110817-070250.jpg

L-R: Papaya and Wild Cherry travel sized shower gel, Vanilla Cream matte single eyeshadow, Golden Paprika single eyeshadow, Nutriganics Smoothing Night Cream, Nutriganics Smoothing Serum, travel sized Nutriganics Foaming Facial Wash, kabuki foundation brush, Nature’s Minerals Foundation in Shade 00.

20110817-070257.jpg

Clockwise from left: Papaya and Satsuma travel sized shower gel, travel sized Seaweed Deep Cleansing Facial Wash, full sized Seaweed Deep Cleansing Facial Wash, Tea Tree Oil.

The first product picture is of my stuff, and the next one is of the things I helped Q get.

The very first thing I saw when I entered the gallery was all the makeup. The mineral makeup, to be exact. I got super excited cos I was planning to get the mineral foundation but it’s $39.90, and the kabuki brush to apply it costs $33.90. How could I ever justify paying 30-over dollars for a brush?! Luckily, these 2 items were on sale at $16.90 each, and I was so relieved. I asked the salesperson if I could try the foundation in 02, but she said that it would be too dark for me. She very helpfully applied 00 and 01 to my hand (and arm) with a kabuki, and explained that 00 was more yellow and would correct redness, and 01 was more pinkish. I was so glad she did this because I would have unwittingly chosen 01, when the right shade for me is 00. Off to a good start at the sale!

I was also very excited to see some Nutriganics items on sale as I want to switch over to that from the Aloe Vera range. I bought the foaming facial wash a month ago, and my skin really improved after using it. The Aloe Vera one, although meant for sensitive skin, left my skin feeling tight, whereas the Nutriganics one leaves it feeling soft and smoooooooth. It’s for “first signs of ageing”, and at 23, I figure that it’s definitely not too early to start using this kind of stuff. Both full sized products that I bought were going at $24.90. The Smoothing Serum retails for $45.90! Madness!!

20110817-070303.jpg

I also popped over to Changi Airport Terminal 3 to buy the Rainforest Balance Shampoo and Conditioner because 1) the Rainforest range wasn’t on sale at Suntec, 2) there’s an ongoing promotion at the stores where you can buy the 250ml bottles at $8 each with a $15 nett spend, and 3) the 7% GST is absorbed when you shop at the airport.

I’m currently using the Moisture one for dry hair, but I’ve decided to switch to the Balance one for oily hair instead. My hair definitely is dry, but it gets quite gross as the day progresses. Close to 2 years ago, a Body Shop sales assistant explained that I have an oily scalp, but dry hair, and recommended that I use the Nettle Oil Balancing Shampoo and Conditioner, followed by the Amlika Leave-in Conditioner and Grapeseed Glossing Serum. However, the Nettle shampoo and conditioner got discontinued with the introduction of this Rainforest range. I have no idea why I decided to switch to Moisture instead of Balance, and for a good 3 pairs of bottles, too. Plus, the 3rd pair were the larger sized ones. I also stopped using the leave-in conditioner and serum. Something’s wrong with me. *knocks head*

Oh yes, and my “$15 nett spend” was on the Radiant Highlighter (which wasn’t on sale at Suntec either). There’s no way I’m going to spend $50+ on Benefit’s High Beam from Sephora/Takashimaya, so this will have to do.

20110817-070224.jpg

Altogether now.

Leave a Reply

  • just some numbers

    • 22,320 hits
