Linkin Park Live at the Singapore Grand Prix 2011.

So last night, I got to watch Linkin Park live in concert again.

OH MY GOD I CANNOT BELIEVE I GOT TO WATCH THEM AGAIN. I WENT FOR THEIR FIRST GIG HERE IN SINGAPORE IN 2004 IN THE EXACT PLACE IN ALMOST THE EXACT SAME DISTANCE FROM THE STAGE I CANNOT BELIEEEEEVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

20110926-040431.jpg

This time, I was facing centrestage.

20110926-112546.jpg

Lights on.

Finally! After sitting on the base of the metal barricade and watching Vettel pwn the competition and some spectacular overtakes by Hamilton and Webber (and Schumacher’s unfortunate crash) for a solid two hours.

20110926-112553.jpg

Chazzy Chaz!

This picture from Mr. Hahn shows Chester’s arm in a sling. I thought he might perform with it too but hell no! He even played guitar for some songs. Unfortunately, the band didn’t play When They Come For Me and Wretches and Kings. I was looking forward to seeing Chester playing drums while singing, and playing with the trigger pads.

20110926-112558.jpg

@m_shinoda himself.

I LOVE YOU MIKE!!!! Mike came out into the crowd (down the centre aisle) during In The End and pointed his mic to my side of the fan zone during the bridge. I was just a few meters away from him but alas it was still TOO DAMN FAR. Sad forever. I should’ve taken up my friend’s offer of pulling us to the front.
Here’s a video of what I (and the rest of you who didn’t get to go) missed:
http://www.facebook.com/v/10150460135404256

20110926-112812.jpg

Big Bad Brad, with the silhouettes of Mr. Hahn, Brad, and Rob on the risers. I now realize I don’t have a nice picture of Phoenix ):

I sang along to every song. The rapping, the singing, and the screaming (kind of). I also screamed my lungs out in between songs, pumped my fist into the air, jumped without touching the person in front of me, you get the idea. Rabid fan here. It felt like 2004 all over again but maybe less intense.

On a sidenote, what is it with people who bring DSLRs to rock concerts and snap away throughout the show? Are you here to rock out and have a good time or pretend to be a professional photographer? It’s extremely annoying when other people (like myself) are trying to catch every move that the band makes on stage, and there you are blocking everyone’s view with your frackin’ bulky camera. Compact cameras and iPhones are still slightly acceptable. If you use your DSLR sparingly it’s also not too bad. But the whole time? Man. I hope you’re filthy rich because if it gets damaged while you’re in the moshpit, you’d be wishing you left the photography to pros like Aloysius Lim (Like his page please!) and the rest of the photog team. Like THIS (bottom half of page 8, until the end). I hope this doesn’t offend anyone who brought a DSLR to the show, but I’m speaking from personal experience. Yes, tall guy in front of me with a DSLR. I’m talking about people like you.

I really wish LP had done more of their new songs. I guess they figured the crowd would be more receptive to their older stuff. Nevertheless, here’s the short clip I got of Iridescent:
http://www.facebook.com/v/10150460141659256

And here is the entire setlist for the concert, inclusive of interludes off A Thousand Suns.
–> Clicky!

Also, please check out more pictures, videos, and a news article:

If you’re still reading, check out this remix of Depeche Mode’s Enjoy The Silence by Mike (thank you, xiaoanstardustsilkytofu!). I think he did it in 2004.

Notice how the riff sounds like the same patch as the intro to Numb’s? ;)

I LOVE YOU FOREVER, LINKIN PARK!

Comments
One Response to “Linkin Park Live at the Singapore Grand Prix 2011.”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I might’ve mentioned a few times that Aloysius is a gig photographer, but *dingding* he’s also a wedding photographer who […]



Leave a Reply

  • just some numbers

    • 22,129 hits
