Haul #3: Festive Spending Frenzy.

I spent a shit ton of money on a few good items in the past week. I am not ashamed! *shakes fist in air*

It’s all because I finally sorted out my dressing table, and it looks pretty elegant (on one side), if I do say so myself. That led to me lemming for a new concealer, and it didn’t help that Urban Decay launched its Naked 2 palette on 1 Dec so I wanted that too. Or the original Naked palette.

Anyway, I met my friend Fana last Friday and we headed to Sephora at ION Orchard. Get this — we spent one and a half hours walking around the whole store. ONE AND A HALF HOURS. She wanted to get the Smashbox Behind The Lens kit face ($70+) for the photo finish foundation primer (it feels like a dream. If you’ve got cash to blow, get this! It comes with the finishing powder too), and I had also wanted to check out the Too Faced Shadow Insurance eye primer. Almost splashed out on the Too Faced Beautiful Dreamer set ($59) but I decided that $59 for an eyeshadow quad that I really wanted, plus lip gloss, mascara and a blusher/bronzer duo that I didn’t want just wasn’t worth it; the Naked palette was sold out then, and I knew the Naked 2 wouldn’t be stocked so soon. The following video by Holly Ann-AeRee helped in convincing myself that I didn’t really need the Too Faced set (skip to 27:08):

In the end, I got the MAC Studio Finish Concealer SPF 35 in C25 ($30) after lots of hemming and hawing, and something else from Burt’s Bees as a friend’s Christmas gift (I’ll feature it in a later post).

20111206-233051.jpg

The colour looks really yellow but it’s really more beige in real life.

Fana and I also stopped by Lush at Wisma Atria B1. It was opening day, the store was super crowded, and I could smell everything but the item that I actually wanted to smell. Nothing really caught our interest, and I was keen on a couple of bath bomb/bath bubbles/bath melts but ALAS! I HAVE NO BATHTUB.

I headed back there on Saturday to pick up the Cupcake mask ($21) after watching MissGlamorazzi/Ingrid’s November Favourites video (skip to 1:33):

But it was sold out! Good thing @LushSingapore is on twitter, and they announced that the fresh masks would be restocked this evening. Lucky me cos I was planning on going to Sephora anyway.

20111206-233102.jpg

It smells like minty chocolate! You have to keep these fresh masks in the fridge, and they only last for 1 month. Use 2-3 times a week.

My route today went like this: F21 -> Sephora at Takashimaya B1 -> Lush. I didn’t mean to stop by F21, but I alighted from my bus at Somerset cos I didn’t want to double back to Taka from ION. I ended up getting this necklace ($9):

20111206-233524.jpg

Headed to Sephora right after and by some sheer luck, the Naked palette ($78) had been restocked today! I didn’t hesitate in picking one up.

20111206-233540.jpg

Comes with a mini Primer Potion and a Shadow Karma Brush. No double-ended eyeliner in this one.

20111206-233114.jpg

L-R: Top row – Virgin, Sin, Naked, Sidecar, Buck, Half Baked; Bottom row – Smog, Darkhorse, Toasted, Hustle, Creep, Gunmetal.

Walked around the rest of the store trying to find an elusive body product for my office Secret Santa giftee. The few colleagues who knew who my giftee was suggested that I get her hand cream, and you would think that hand creams are easy to find, but no way josé. I walked around Raffles City yesterday — went to Kiehl’s, L’Occitane, Crabtree & Evelyn — all way overbudget. Thought of getting something from Burt’s Bees (the main reason why I went to Sephora), but the scents are just..ugh. I eventually got help from the salesperson after sniffing my way through practically all the various hand creams in Sephora, and she brought me to this lesser known brand from Paris. It’s perfect! I’ll also show this later. What a cliffhanger!

My last stop before hitting the train station was Typo at Wisma Atria. Picked up a few Christmas cards cos they’re so darn cute, and it’s 4 for $10!

20111206-233130.jpg

20111206-233533.jpg

This is my favourite. ;)

This has been quite a lengthy post. Hope everyone’s been having a great December so far!

Comments
3 Responses to “Haul #3: Festive Spending Frenzy.”
  1. the naked palette!! intense lemmings for that. you gotta do some face/look of the day when you try it on!

    also, naked2 has been reviewed and I just watched it on youtube and saw the swatches: http://www.xsparkage.com/?p=4113

    • L. says:

      i’ll try to do that! and yea i saw reviews for the naked 2 palette too. decided not to wait for that cos the shades are slightly paler overall (‘cept the matte black which i have from a different brand), and aiyah they look the same! haha..

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] start from about $50 here at Sephora. Too Faced also has a few sweet sets with pretty packaging. Almost bought the Beautiful Dreamer set but I only wanted the eyeshadow quad. 2 cool skincare/bath/body brands to check out would be Soap […]



Leave a Reply

  • just some numbers

    • 22,129 hits
