Smackdown: Mascara.

Was tossing out some old, expired mascara (yes, I try to follow the 3-month rule), when it dawned on me that I should write a post on them first.

Here are the 5 mascaras that I’ve used in 2012:

Top to bottom: Urban Decay Lush Lash, Revlon Grow Luscious, Majolica Majorca Lash King, Maybelline The Falsies Volum Express, Lancôme Virtuôse Precious Cells.

1. Urban Decay Lush Lash

This mascara claims to have growth serum that helps lashes grow longer. Did I notice any difference in my lashes? Not really.

Price: $30 thereabouts

Curl-holding power: Decent only

Does it smudge: No!

Effect: Pretty natural, not clumpy

Find this at: Sephora

Would I repurchase this: Nope. For the benefit that it’s supposed to have and the natural look it gives, I wouldn’t pay that much for this again.

2. Revlon Grow Luscious

I’ve seen so many beauty YouTubers rave about this mascara and I’ll admit that it does look good on them, but look at the ridiculous size of the brush! It also has such long and dense bristles that I keep getting mascara all over my eyelid. I simply cannot deal with this mascara no matter how careful I am, and I am not going to buy an eyelid shield just to use with this.

Price: $15-20

Curl-holding power: It’s not bad

Does it smudge: HELL YES. I get black (not even faint black. i mean BLACK) smudges under my eye after a few hours of wear, and I’m not even doing anything major outdoors.

Effect: Super black, volumizing, but can be clumpy.

Find this at: Most drugstores or departmental stores that carry Revlon products

Would I repurchase this: NOT IN THIS LIFE.

3. Majolica Majorca Lash King

I bought this mascara while I was in Tokyo in end-April. Had heard good things about the Lash Expander Frame Plus version, but when I opened the tester I wasn’t too sure how much I would like the brush. Ended up getting the Lash King one instead as it was newly released and the brush looked more friendly.

Price: >$20

Curl-holding power: Sky-high curls right after you apply it, but they become less so after a while

Does it smudge: A little bit

Effect: Lengthening more than volumising. Has fibres in it that give a nice false lash effect, but when it’s on its last legs they look a bit feathery.

Find this at: Selected Watsons outlets that carry the Majolica Majorca range

Would I repurchase this: Yes. This comes in brown as well, so I might get that as a dramatic-but-not-that-dramatic mascara.

4. Maybelline The Falsies Volum Express (Waterproof)

Bought this one while I was out one day and realized to my horror that I had forgotten to apply mascara, so I went straight to Watsons and bought this because 1) I’ve also heard good things about this mascara, and 2) it was on offer, packaged with a nice Baby Lips lip balm. Special mention for its brush which has a bendy joint. It does make application feel more friendly.

Price: Below $20

Curl-holding power: This one works, seriously.

Does it smudge: A little bit

Effect: This one is nice and volumising. Doesn’t lengthen as much the Majolica Majorca one, but it does give a false lash effect with 2 coats.

Find this at: Most drugstores or departmental stores that carry Maybelline products

Would I repurchase this: Yes! If I wasn’t so fickle about mascara, I would probably keep using this.

5. Lancôme Virtuôse Precious Cells

Bought this one on impulse as I was exiting the arrival hall of Changi Airport when I came back from Bangkok in July. I had always wanted to try a high-end mascara, and Lancôme seems to market its mascaras quite aggressively (occupational hazard) so I thought, why not? Was deciding between Virtuôse, Hypnôse, and Hypnôse Doll Eyes. I regret not picking Doll Eyes, but who knows what it’s really like…

Price: Above $30 at airport duty-free. No idea how much it normally costs.

Curl-holding power: Forget it.

Does it smudge: A little bit

Effect: If all you’re looking to do is make your natural lashes look a bit thicker with no other effect, then I guess you would like this. For everything else, don’t even bother spending your hard earned money on this.

Find this at: Sephora (i think?) and most departmental stores

Would I repurchase this: Are you freaking kidding me? I’m trying to use this up so I can go buy something else.

Wildcard: Maybelline Long Extreme Stiletto

I just want to throw in one last mascara because I LOVE THIS ONE. Possibly my favourite (the Falsies one comes in a close second). This is still in the plastic wrap because it’s a repurchase (bought it last year actually), but I haven’t used it because like I said, I’m fickle when it comes to mascara.

Price: Below $20

Curl-holding power: CUR.LY. ‘Nuff said.

Does it smudge: Not at all. From somebody with oily lids, this is a major plus point.

Effect: Holds curl like nobody’s business. It’s not volumising though, so you get a very natural but pretty look thanks to the amazing curl hold.

Find this at: Most drugstores or departmental stores that carry Maybelline products

Would I repurchase this: I already did. That speaks volumes. No pun intended.

So that’s it! 5+1 mascaras that I’ve used before. I also used The Body Shop’s Divide & Multiply, and Big & Curvy mascaras. They’re decent! I’m currently deciding whether to get the Maybelline Lashionista one because I keep seeing the ads on YouTube. I may just cave later, especially since I’ve had good experiences with Maybelline mascaras (see above).

We shall see.

P.S. The nail polish I’m wearing is OPI’s Just Spotted the Lizard.

Comments
3 Responses to “Smackdown: Mascara.”
  1. love ur nail color n totally agree about the maybelline mascaras being best of the lot! stiletto wins by a small margin. now they have the new pink version of the stiletto.,

  2. adobe.com says:

    Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and all. Nevertheless imagine if you added some great graphics or video clips to give your posts more,
    “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and videos,
    this website could undeniably be one of the very best in its field.

    Wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

  • just some numbers

    • 22,129 hits
