Festive Baking: Oatmeal Cranberry Cookies.

I baked! (and i’m finally blogging again)

Got infected with the festive spirit and went on a gift-buying, cooking-baking rampage in the week leading up to Christmas. Will probably do a post-Christmas gift guide after this (fingers crossed that it’ll happen), but for now, here is the story of my festive baking.

IMG_0401

Instagrammed this on the first day. Look at her eager face!

I followed the recipe for Phoebe’s Fabulous Oatmeal-Raisin Cookies from the Cooking with Friends cookbook that was given to my sister (but koped  by me because I used to be obsessed with cookbooks as well as Friends). There are quotes from the show on each page, and it is the show/book that taught me about the ‘friend zone’ in my young impressionable years (uh yeah).

Anyway, for my version of the cookies, I swapped the raisins out for cranberries. I first made these a few years back when someone gave us a huge bag of Ocean Spray Craisins and we didn’t quite know what to do with them, so I baked them into round discs of goodness. Decided to make a batch this year and the rest is….in people’s tummies. No really. I made a second batch today cos I was running out of them and had more people to feed. Kinda.

NB: pictures were taken on 2 separate days of baking.

IMG_0457

IMG_0325

IMG_0370

IMG_0371

IMG_0372

Santa’s little helper.

IMG_0439

2 cups of rolled oats, 1 1/4 cups of flour, 3/4 tsp of baking powder, 3/4 tsp of baking soda, 1/4 tsp of salt, and 1 1/2 cups of Craisins.

IMG_0440

170g of unsalted butter, 3/4 cup of brown sugar, 2/3 cup of granulated sugar.

IMG_0378

You might want to preheat your oven to 180ºC when you’ve reached this step.

IMG_0441

Mix in an egg and 1 tsp of vanilla extract.

IMG_0376

Can we ignore how large my legs look and focus on how cute Ten-ten is??

IMG_0379

Combine the dry and wet ingredients.

IMG_0382

IMG_0380

Bake them at 180ºC for 12-15mins depending on how large you’ve made them. Your mileage may vary.

IMG_0383

Fell asleep while waiting. Ngaww..

IMG_0454

Tadaa!

IMG_0394

IMG_0452

Guilty face cos I caught her on the dining table, stealing a cookie.

IMG_0450

Cheers from me and the cat.

Hope everyone had a great Christmas! =^.^=

On a side note, the ‘let it snow’ code works on wordpress again! I know I’m slow..

Leave a Reply

  • just some numbers

    • 22,624 hits
