Be Stila My Heart.

I currently think of myself as more of a MAC/Urban Decay girl, but I think I might be slowly turning into a Stila convert. Ever since I scored a sweet deal on the Stila Blue Jean Baby set from Revolve Clothing (it’s still on sale as of today!), I’ve come to realize that the hype is well deserved.

Way back at the start of the month, I ordered a pair of Jeffrey Campbell Lita Spike boots from Revolve cos they were going for almost 50% off. Why not, right? But to qualify for free shipping, my order needed to exceed $100 and I was just a little bit off, so I threw in the only other item that I remotely wanted, which was this Stila kit. No regrets!

IMG_0488

The Stila box got beaten up by my JC box in transit to Singapore.

IMG_0490

Long Wear Liquid Lip Color in Muse, Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner in Indigo, Eyeshadow in Cloud (it’s more silvery taupe in person), and Rain (a darker, cooler brown); the picture is a little inaccurate.

Firstly, let’s just talk about value. Each item costs over $20 each if bought separately, but I only ended up paying $20+ for the entire set of full sized items.

Next, the quality. The eyeshadows (Cloud and Rain) are nicely pigmented; Cloud is more velvety than Rain since it’s a shimmer, and the latter is a matte shade. This combo has been awesome for the festive season and they just go really well together. Don’t let the dark colour of Rain fool you. It’s actually very natural when used in the crease.

I’ve only used the Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Liner once, but I have to say that it’s even better than my Dollywink one that I’ve heard people on YouTube rave about. When I use the Dollywink one to do a winged line, the ‘wing’ tends to disintegrate and disappear after half a day of wear. The Stila one, however, managed to last for a night of singing at a semi-open air bar with rain coming in for 3 hours, and supper after that.

The only thing I’ve not tried yet is the Long Wear Liquid Lip Color, and I’m not too keen on using it after checking out swatches of it online. It looks really…fake. Apparently it has really good staying power though. Guess I’ll just take people’s word for it.

Fast forward to today, when I was in Sephora looking at the Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Stash. I came across a swatch of it on Temptalia and decided that it would be a great every day less-harsh-than-black-or-plum colour. Anyway, I went to look at it but hesitated because $30 is a lot of money for something I know will smudge after a few hours (sad to report that, i am), and will require constant sharpening. I then stumbled across a twin pack of dual-ended UD liners (plus a sharpener). It was Stash+Sabbath (a navy blue), and Demolition (i think)+Zero. Basically 3 colours I didn’t want, and a colour that I did want, but half the size, for $45. Good value, but not worth it for me. So I went back to take the full-sized Stash pencil.

However! Something made me look at the Stila display that was on the other side of the shelf from Urban Decay. Then I saw it. A dupe for UD Stash — Stila’s Smudge Stick Eyeliner in Moray. The price said $45 though, and I was like aww..then I took a second look and saw that it was $45 for the 5 pencils on display.

IMG_0484

Back home, in all its glory.

Holy crap. I tested them out to be sure I would want them, and my gosh, I loved them. So let’s do some math shall we. $30 for a pencil that requires constant sharpening, or $45 for 5 pencils that are twist up, and one is the exact dupe for the one I initially wanted?

That’s not the end. I had this entire row of swatches on the back of my hand, and after admiring them for one final time, I took a tissue to wipe them away. The UD ones smudged away but the Stila ones hardly budged. What sorcery is this!?IMG_0487

The strangest thing though, is that I fell in love with the UD pencils in the first place because the swatches I made last time didn’t budge when I tried to remove them with a tissue. This time though, they just…failed. Oh well. I’m so glad I found these Stila liners! The only drawback is that they don’t retract. The cashier made it a point to inform me in case I twist them too much. What great service!

Now I have a Sephora White card. Here we go again!

Comments
2 Responses to “Be Stila My Heart.”
  1. Jana says:

    Speaking of Revolve…. do you know if you are a first time buyer you can get 20% off? EVEN OFF SALE ITEMS. I’ve bought from Revolve 2 times before I knew of this discount but my friend told me to go ahead an email customer service. I then went ahead to buy my items and they refunded me 25% of the total amount – SCORE!!!!

Leave a Reply

  • just some numbers

    • 22,408 hits
