Lights Will Guide You Home.

I don’t normally post personal topics on this blog, but I’m doing so today under the guise of talking about music — a song, in particular.

A friend once said “I don’t understand why in a world where Radiohead exists, that Coldplay should have any meaning whatsoever.”

Well, as much as I’m not a fan of Coldplay either, this particular song holds numerous meanings and memories for me. It’s probably their only song that I don’t mind listening to over and over again.

I was reminded of this song today, on the first day of 2013.

This morning, something got me thinking about the fragility of human relationships, be it between lovers, friends, and even family members. 2012 really showed me how quickly things could take a 180º turn, both for better and for worse.

It’s amazing how we can gain friendships and put our trust in people so quickly, but it’s also frightening how we could lose someone in an instant, either to death or unforeseeable/uncontrollable circumstances.

I’ve been there many times in the years that have passed, and I constantly grapple with the reality that things have changed.

Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones

And I will try to fix you

I guess I like this song so much because I find solace in those few lines, but at the end of the day it’s still false security and we should ultimately find the will to move on.

The friend who sent me this song close to 7 years ago said today:

“Well, it’s time to get out of being stuck in reverse.”

Happy 2013.

Leave a Reply

  • just some numbers

    • 22,597 hits
